Assembly Polls 2018: Mysuru – the hand that rocks the cradle….

Mysuru district is a Congress stronghold with the party having won eight out of eleven assembly seats out of eleven constituencies in the last assembly election. Will the BJP led by the experienced and dynamic duo of PM Modi and BJP President Amit Shah open its account in the forthcoming assembly election? Uday Kumar examines.

The last assembly polls saw the Congress under the leadership of Chief Minister Siddaramaiah taking pole position.

It contested 223 constituencies and won 122, viz. 54.46 % of overall seats followed by BJP and JD (S) which contested in 222 assembly constituencies and won 40 seats each viz. 17.86%. In the previous 2008 assembly election, BJP had won 110 seats followed by Congress and JD (S) which had won 80 and 28 seats respectively

In Mysuru District, among eleven assembly seats, the Congress was impressive, winning eight seats while the JD (S) managed three and BJP failed to open their account. Almost all the sitting MLAs from the Congress are expected to be given tickets to contest the forthcoming assembly election in their respective constituencies. However in the BJP an internal contest is on. They have a minimum two to three strong candidates for each constituency, especially in Krishnaraja Constituency, three time MLA Ramdass who lost to Congress candidate MK Somashekar in the last assembly election is also in race for the ticket along with equally capable and influential candidate Rajeev. In the Chamaraja constituency, incumbent MLA Vasu and Dhruvakumar are vying for the ticket from the Congress, but in the BJP there are three contenders - BJP President Manjunath, former MUDA Chairman Nagendra and Corporator Nandish Preethan, son of former MLA Shankarlingegowda. Former IPS officer Shankar Bidri is expected to contest from Varuna constituency.

It’s almost the same with JD (S) - apart from four constituencies, they too are yet to finalize their candidates’ names. For the JD (S), GT Devegowda, Sa Ra Mahesh, KS Rangappa and Abdullah are the four almost confirmed candidates who will be contesting from Hunsur, Krishnarajanagar, Chamaraja and NR constituency respectively.

In the Congress, Siddaramaiah is expected to contest from Chamundeshwari constituency where GT Devegowda from JD (S) is the sitting MLA and hand over the contest for the Varuna constituency from where he won in 2013 to his son Dr Yathindra. It’s the same with district and PWD Minister HC Mahadevappa; Mahadevappa contested successfully from T Narasipur but now wants his son Sunil Bose to contest from T Narasipura.

He wanted to contest from Nanjangud but congress party is insisting that he contest from CV Raman Nagar. The Congress has apparently done away with the one family one ticket norm for this election only strengthening the belief that in politics there is no start up concept – it is based on heritage and that concept gets even stronger in Karnataka’s historic city.

With BJP toppling the left in Tripura and already a part of ruling alliances in Nagaland and Meghalaya, the party is set to lead or be a partner in 21 of India’s 31 state governments while Congress the main opposition party at the centre is in power in only four states.

Will that dwindle to three by May end? Mysuru holds the key. That’s the big question?

Disclaimer: The opinions expressed within this article are the personal opinions of the author. The facts and opinions appearing in the article do not reflect the views of and does not assume any responsibility or liability for the same.