Century old University of Mysoregets autonomous status

The long pending demand of the century old university ‘University of Mysore’ was fulfilled by University Grants Commission by according much needed Autonomous status to University of Mysore along with 21 other state universities in the country. Uday Kumar reports.

The decision to grant autonomy to the University of Mysore was taken by the government in its endeavour to liberalise the education sector which has linked quality with autonomy and greater academic freedom. With the new autonomous status, the university has the freedom to introduce new courses and skill-development programmes, it can hire foreign faculty, it can have academic collaborations, and also run distance learning programmes.

C. Basavaraju, Vice Chancellor (incharge), University of Mysore said “We managed to get autonomous status because of the collective effort from our teaching faculties and quality research undertaken by our students. A meeting of the deans and heads of all department will be convened to draw up an action plan. With the autonomous status, now we have the academic freedom to devise our own syllabus and introduce new courses with thrust on research and development to meet the requirements of the society and the industry”.

He also mentioned that efforts will be made to make the best use of the academic freedom that has been accorded to the university, and it will strive hard to introduce a few new courses from the coming academic year. “With the current development, we are free to launch new courses. There are thousands of people keen on securing a degree from the UoM which has quality and expertise” said Basavaraju.

A brief history of University of Mysuru:

The University which celebrated its centenary recently was founded during the reign of KrishnarajaWadiyar IV. It was opened on July 27, 1916. The first chancellor of UOM was HV Nanjundaiah. It is the 6th oldest university in India and the oldest in Karnataka. The university encompasses 122 affiliated colleges and five constituent colleges with overall student’s intake of 53,000. University has 37 post graduate departments, eight specialist research and training centres and two postgraduate centres that together offer a total of about 55 regular academic programs to 3500 students.

Disclaimer: The opinions expressed within this article are the personal opinions of the author. The facts and opinions appearing in the article do not reflect the views of Karnatakatoday.com and Karnatakatoday.com does not assume any responsibility or liability for the same.